h1

Library love

September 11, 2014

Old Friends library card fabric by Jenimp on Spoonflower

I agree heartily with Jorge Luis Borges when he said, “I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library.” I volunteer with the Friends of the Library group for my local branch, and am probably driving the staff crazy with the number of books I request and check out weekly. So I was happy to see that the theme for last week’s Spoonflower contest was Libraries.

I played around with a few ideas (look for more library designs from me in the future!), but the one that I ended up using was scans of library checkout cards, altered to feature some of my favorite books, from “Where the Wild Things Are” to “The Bell Jar.” I love those cards – they’re a link to pre-computer times, a tiny record of the past, and such cool-looking pieces of ephemera.

I also changed some of the identifying details on the cards, like the library locations – often to match the setting of the book or something from the author’s life. Being a type geek, I had a lot of fun matching up the old fonts and the look of vintage typewriters.

Apparently there are a lot of other fans of checkout cards out there, too, because my “Old Friends” fabric came in 5th in this week’s voting. Thanks everyone! I’m off to order the design on Spoonflower’s Eco Canvas and make a book bag, myself.

Happy reading, happy sewing!

Photo by Spoonflower via Flickr.

