h1

Greetings from Memphis

December 28, 2009

Album cover for "Memphis, California" by Lane Murchison

I’m thrilled that Lane Murchison’s new CD, “Memphis, California” is out, featuring my artwork. I’ve known Lane for years and this is some of his best work yet. You can listen to samples and find out more on his website [which I also built :)] at www.lanesmusic.com/memphis.html.

For the artwork, I had a great time combining various paper textures and type effects to create an old-timey postcard featuring Hettie Lott’s photos of the recording session at Sun Studio.  I learned how to mimic a letterpress effect in Photoshop, a technique I’m sure you’ll be seeing more of from me.  I also used this great tutorial on how to give photos that old vintage linen postcard look.  I love the fact that I’m still learning new stuff on every project!

I’ll be posting more images of the album in my portfolio soon.

